Cheap check printing software, compared by what you keep paying

A low first number is not the same as a low price. Some programs bill every month. Some sell a one-time license that covers only the current version. $50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). Future versions are included for as long as we sell it.

Costs less than 4 months of Checkeeper. Pay once.

Updates are included, for as long as we sell it. Your license includes all future versions of OwnChecks released while we continue to sell the product. We may stop selling or updating it at any time; your installed version keeps working.

Competitor prices as of Oct 2, 2026. Checkeeper is $14.99 per month, so four months is $59.96.

A shelf price and a real price

Checkeeper, a cloud app, is $14.99 per month, which is $59.96 over four months and $179.88 over a year. Four months of that subscription already costs more than OwnChecks.

Checksoft Personal Deluxe is listed at $41.99 at Staples. That is less than $50. Whether later versions are included is not stated, so a lower sticker is not automatically a lower cost. Home & Business is $74.99 at Staples. Premier is not stated. Office Depot lists Personal Deluxe at $49.99.

ezCheckPrinting is $59 for a single user of the current version. Updates are free inside that version. A new major version is a paid upgrade. Network is $79 plus $40 per additional user. VersaCheck X1 Gold is $129.99 for the 2026 edition, and printing requires credits. ChequeSystem is $155 and includes one year of updates.

The lowest price we found for a one-time license that includes all future versions. Checksoft Personal Deluxe is listed at $41.99. That is a lower shelf price, and its policy for future versions is not stated. See the comparison.

What you are actually buying

OwnChecks prints checks on a Windows PC. You can use blank check stock with a MICR line in the original E-13B font, or a preset for pre-printed stock. You add your logo and signature, keep accounts and payees, and record checks in a register you can back up and restore. Your checks, payees and register stay on your PC. Nothing is uploaded. There is no cloud account holding your bank details, no monthly fee, and no print credits.

$50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). The free trial prints a VOID watermark until you activate the license key that is emailed after payment. Print a free test page to check alignment, then ask your bank about acceptance. MICR toner or MICR ink is recommended, and a laser printer is the recommended printer for blank stock.

The honest tradeoffs

The full grid, with sources, is on the comparison page. If the question is monthly billing rather than the sticker price, read check printing software with no subscription. System requirements: Windows 10 or 11 (64-bit). Internet is needed to download and activate once.

Questions

What does “cheap” mean for check printing software?

A low first payment is not the whole price. $50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). Future versions are included for as long as we sell it. Checkeeper is $14.99 a month, so four months is $59.96. ezCheckPrinting is $59 for the current version only. Checksoft Personal Deluxe is listed at $41.99, and its policy for later versions is not stated.

Is there a lower one-time shelf price?

Yes. Checksoft Personal Deluxe is listed at $41.99, which is less than $50. Its policy for future versions is not stated. The lowest price we found for a one-time license that includes all future versions.

What do I give up by paying less?

OwnChecks is Windows only. It does not run on Mac or Linux. It does not mail checks for you. Support is email only, with no free phone support. You buy your own check stock and, for blank stock, MICR toner. You still have to confirm that your bank will accept what you print.

Are there print credits?

Not in OwnChecks. VersaCheck X1 requires print credits: 165 are included, and more are sold separately. Unlimited annual print credits are listed at $399.99, on sale for $199.99.

Buy, $50Free trial