Check printing prices, in one table

$50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). Future versions are included for as long as we sell it. The other rows are published prices, not a ranking and not a review.

If a price was not confirmed, the cell says “Not stated.” Scroll sideways on a small screen. The product name stays pinned.

Competitor prices as of Oct 2, 2026. Saved captures: evidence/prices/2026-10-02.
ProductPricing modelPriceUpdates includedPrint creditsPlatforms
OwnChecksOne-time purchase$50 for the first computer. $15 for each extra computer, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email).All future updates and versions, for as long as we sell it.NoneWindows only. Mac and Linux are not supported.
Checksoft (Avanquest)One-timePersonal Deluxe $41.99 at Staples. Office Depot lists Personal Deluxe at $49.99. Home & Business $74.99 at Staples. Premier: Not stated. as of Oct 2, 2026 (Staples — Personal Deluxe)Not statedNot statedWindows
ezCheckPrinting (Halfpricesoft)One-time, this version only$59 single-user for this version. Network is $79 plus $40 per additional user. Virtual Printer and QuickBooks edition prices: Not stated. as of Oct 2, 2026 (Features and pricing)Free updates inside the current version only. A new major version is a paid upgrade.Not statedWindows and Mac. Licenses are sold separately.
CheckBuilderProOne-time$59.95. BatchBuilder, for spreadsheet batch printing, is sold separately. Its price: Not stated. as of Oct 2, 2026 (Product page)Not statedNot statedWindows and Mac
VersaCheck X1 2026One-time, per yearly editionGold $129.99. QuickBooks edition $129.99. Platinum $149.99. Silver bundle $99.99, which includes 1 year of VersaCheck ONLINE. Mac edition $149.99. X9 Gold for 3 users: $179.99. X9 QuickBooks for 5 users: $199.99. as of Oct 2, 2026 (X1 Gold)Sold as a new edition each year. The current desktop edition is named 2026. A newer edition is a separate purchase.Required. 165 included; more are sold separately. Unlimited annual print credits are listed at $399.99, on sale for $199.99.Windows. A Mac edition is sold separately.
ChequeSystem (Evinco)One-time "lifetime license"$155. Two-year updates add $62. Unlimited updates add $217, which is $372 in total with the license. Volume pricing: 10% off for 2–5 licenses, 20% off for 6 or more. as of Oct 2, 2026 (Order page)1 year of updates included.Not statedWindows
CheckeeperSubscription$14.99 per month ($179.88 per year). Optional mailing is $1.50 per check. A Square partner price: Not stated. as of Oct 2, 2026 (Pricing)Not statedNot statedCloud
OnlineCheckWriter / Zil MoneyPay as you go, plus higher plans$0 per month, with a $30 minimum recharge and $1.00 per printed check ($1.25 per mailed check). Premium is $499.99 per month. Enterprise: custom. Other monthly plans in a $19.95–$39.95 range: Not stated. as of Oct 2, 2026 (Pricing)Not statedNot statedCloud
VersaCheck ONLINESubscriptionSilver $89.88 per year. Gold $125.88 per year. Platinum $149.88 per year. A fourth plan is $299.88 per year. as of Oct 2, 2026 (Plans)Not statedCapped per plan. The plans page shows 50, 80, 100, or 250 print credits included, depending on the plan.Cloud

How to read a row

Pricing model is whether you pay once, pay for a yearly edition, subscribe, or pay per check. Price is the figure the source listed. Updates is only what that source said is included. Print credits are extra codes some programs require before a check will print. Platforms tells you if you are buying Windows, Mac, or a cloud app.

What OwnChecks is claiming

The lowest price we found for a one-time license that includes all future versions. Checksoft Personal Deluxe is listed at $41.99. That is a lower shelf price, and its policy for future versions is not stated. See the comparison.

That sentence is about future versions, not about the smallest number on the shelf. Checksoft Personal Deluxe at $41.99 is lower. ezCheckPrinting at $59 covers the current version, and a new major version is a paid upgrade. VersaCheck X1 Gold at $129.99 is a 2026 edition and requires print credits. ChequeSystem at $155 includes one year of updates.

Tradeoffs, including ours

OwnChecks does not run on Mac or Linux. It does not mail checks. This site does not claim an accounting-software integration. Support is email only. You supply the check stock and, for blank stock, MICR toner. You confirm acceptance with your bank. A free test page checks alignment; it does not prove the bank will take the check.

VersaCheck sells a Mac edition and a QuickBooks edition, and its store says account validation needs the internet. Checkeeper and OnlineCheckWriter are cloud products. ezCheckPrinting and CheckBuilderPro publish Windows and Mac versions.

OwnChecks. Your checks, payees and register stay on your PC. Nothing is uploaded. The free trial prints a VOID watermark until you activate a license. Email support only. No free phone support.

Checksoft (Avanquest). Walmart, Amazon, Best Buy, and the Avanquest product page did not return a readable price on Oct 2, 2026. Walmart showed a robot check, so reported prices of $24.95 and $29.99 were not verified. The Staples Personal Deluxe page also includes $69.99 in text beside a Home & Business mention. The dedicated Staples Home & Business page’s embedded price is $74.99. Whether it prints a MICR line on blank stock: Not stated.

ezCheckPrinting (Halfpricesoft). MICR on blank stock: yes, as stated on the vendor pages.

CheckBuilderPro. The product page states free lifetime tech support. It does not state an update policy. Standalone, with no networking. US banks only. A MICR font is included.

VersaCheck X1 2026. The store says account validation needs an internet connection. MICR on blank stock: yes, with print credits required. The Oct 2, 2026 Gold and Platinum captures show 165 print credits included. They do not display the software’s dollar price or the unlimited-credit prices, so those figures were not reconfirmed on this capture.

ChequeSystem (Evinco). 1 computer, with a free transfer. MICR on blank stock: yes.

Checkeeper. The pricing page states unlimited checks, templates, and bank accounts, and that blank stock is supported.

OnlineCheckWriter / Zil Money. The pay-as-you-go tier lists 3 bank accounts and 3 users. Positive Pay is $199.99 per account.

VersaCheck ONLINE. Annual prices above are what the plans page showed on Oct 2, 2026.

More context: cheap check printing software, a VersaCheck alternative, and check printing with no subscription.

Sources

Full-page screenshots and sources.json from Oct 2, 2026 are in evidence/prices/2026-10-02. PrintBoss Online is $10, $14, $18, or $22 per QuickBooks Online company per month, for 1, 2–4, 5–9, or 10+ users. as of Oct 2, 2026 (PrintBoss Online).

Buy, $50Free trial