Cheap check printing software is the price you are still paying next year

The cheap option is not always the small number on the shelf. OwnChecks is $50 for the first computer. Checksoft Personal Deluxe was $41.99 at Staples on Oct 2, 2026, which is less. Checkeeper at $14.99 a month costs more than $50 before the year is half over.

Three different kinds of cheap

One kind of cheap is a low first payment that never stops. Checkeeper is $14.99 a month, $179.88 a year, as of Oct 2, 2026. Four months is $59.96. Call that cheap only if you will cancel. Optional mailing at $1.50 a check is extra, and it is a service OwnChecks does not sell.

Another kind is a box on a store shelf. Checksoft Personal Deluxe was $41.99 at Staples and $49.99 at Office Depot on Oct 2, 2026. Home & Business was $74.99 at Staples. Premier was Not stated. Walmart’s pages were blocked by a robot check, so this page does not use a Walmart number. Whether Checksoft includes later versions is Not stated. The cheaper shelf price is real. The cost of the next version is unknown.

The third kind is a one-time Windows license with later versions included while the seller keeps selling the product. That is OwnChecks at $50 for the first computer, plus $15 for each extra computer. Your license includes all future versions of OwnChecks released while we continue to sell the product. We may stop selling or updating it at any time; your installed version keeps working. It is not a promise that the product will be sold forever.

ezCheckPrinting and the version you actually bought

On Oct 2, 2026, ezCheckPrinting’s features and pricing page showed $59 for a single user, $79 for the network edition, and $40 for each additional network user. The vendor’s model, as this site records it, is one-time for this version. Updates are free inside that version. A new major version is a paid upgrade. Windows and Mac are separate licenses. MICR on blank stock is something the vendor states. Virtual Printer and QuickBooks edition prices were Not stated.

$59 is close to $50. The difference that matters later is what happens when they ship the next major version. With ezCheckPrinting, that is another purchase. With OwnChecks, later versions are included for as long as we sell it. If you never want another version, the difference is smaller than the marketing makes it.

VersaCheck is rarely the cheap path. The Oct 2, 2026 capture confirmed a Silver bundle at $99.99 and did not show Gold or Platinum software prices. Print credits were part of the Gold and Platinum pages, 165 included. Credits are a second price. OwnChecks does not charge them.

The costs a license page leaves out

Blank check stock and MICR toner can cost more than the software in the first month, then less than a subscription in the first year. Pre-printed stock costs more per check and skips the toner decision, because the MICR line is already printed. OwnChecks supports both. A laser printer you already own is the usual recommendation for blank stock. An inkjet can be the wrong tool for a MICR line. The guide on MICR toner is the longer version.

Support has a price too. OwnChecks is email only. If you need a phone queue, a cheap license is the wrong savings. Time has a price. A cloud app that you do not install is faster on day one. A local app is faster on the day you do not want the payee list online.

Print a free test page to check alignment. Confirm acceptance with your bank before you rely on a check. A test page does not prove bank acceptance. OwnChecks is not affiliated with any bank, and it does not move money. A program that is cheap and then rejected by the bank is not cheap. Print the free test page, with the VOID watermark still on, and ask the bank before you order a case of stock.

What cheap does not include here

OwnChecks will not pretend to be the lowest one-time price. Checksoft at $41.99 is lower, and this page says so. It will not pretend Checkeeper is expensive for a single month. $14.99 is a small month. It is a large year if you keep printing.

There is no phone support, no Mac version, no mailing desk, and no accounting integration in the price. Your checks, payees and register stay on your PC. Nothing is uploaded. The key covers the computers that order paid for. The longer note on stickers versus subscriptions is cheap check printing software, compared by what you keep paying. The sourced grid is the comparison.

Buy OwnChecks

$50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). The lowest price we found for a one-time license that includes all future versions. Updates are included for as long as we sell it.

Card, Apple Pay, Google Pay

Refunds within 48 hours of purchase by contacting support@ownchecks.com. After 48 hours, all sales are final. Try the free trial first. Checks print with a VOID watermark until you activate.

Related

Questions

What is the cheapest one-time price you confirmed?

Checksoft Personal Deluxe at $41.99 at Staples, as of Oct 2, 2026. Office Depot listed it at $49.99. That is less than $50. Its policy for later versions is Not stated.

Why is $50 not the lowest sticker?

The lowest price we found for a one-time license that includes all future versions. A lower first price with the next version Not stated can cost more later. ezCheckPrinting is $59 for the current version, and a new major version is a paid upgrade.

Are there costs besides the license?

Yes. Check stock, and MICR toner or MICR ink if you print the MICR line on blank stock. A laser printer is recommended. Some other products also sell print credits or charge every month.

Will my bank accept a check I print?

Print a free test page to check alignment. Confirm acceptance with your bank before you rely on a check. A test page does not prove bank acceptance. OwnChecks is not affiliated with any bank, and it does not move money.

Buy, $50Free trial