Best check printing software depends on what you refuse to keep paying

This page compares OwnChecks with Checkeeper, VersaCheck, Checksoft, and ezCheckPrinting. The figures are the ones saved in evidence/prices/2026-10-02. Competitor prices as of Oct 2, 2026. If a capture did not show a dollar amount, this page says Not stated. OwnChecks publishes this comparison. It is not a neutral lab test.

How this comparison is scored

A “best” list that hides the meter is not useful. What changes the bill is the first price, whether a later version is another purchase, whether each check spends a credit, and whether the payee list lives on your PC. OwnChecks is Windows only. A Mac requirement ends the comparison before price does.

None of the rows below is a scored review, and this page invents no customer totals. The pros and cons are the limits each product states, plus the limits OwnChecks has. Unconfirmed numbers stay Not stated.

OwnChecks

$50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). Future versions are included for as long as we sell it.

Your checks, payees and register stay on your PC. Nothing is uploaded. It needs the internet only to download it and to activate your key once. Your check data never leaves your PC. You can print a MICR line on blank check stock in the original E-13B font, or use a preset for pre-printed stock. The register records the checks you print. You can search it, void a row, edit and print again, export a CSV, and back the file up. The backup stays with you.

Print a free test page to check alignment. Confirm acceptance with your bank before you rely on a check. A test page does not prove bank acceptance. OwnChecks is not affiliated with any bank, and it does not move money.

The tradeoffs are real. There is no Mac version and no Linux version. The app does not mail checks. This site does not claim a QuickBooks connection or any other accounting-software integration. Support is email only, at support@ownchecks.com. You still buy check stock, and blank-stock MICR printing needs MICR toner or MICR ink. A laser printer is recommended for that job.

Checkeeper

Checkeeper is $14.99 a month, $179.88 a year, on its pricing page as of Oct 2, 2026. Optional mailing on that page is $1.50 a check.

Four months of that monthly price is $59.96, which is already more than $50. A year is about $180. The pricing page states unlimited checks, templates, and bank accounts, and that blank stock is supported. A Square partner price was not stated on the capture.

Checkeeper is a cloud app. That is a real advantage if you want to open it from a browser and if you want them to mail a check for $1.50. It is a real disadvantage if you do not want payees and bank details uploaded. OwnChecks does not mail checks. You print them yourself. Updates for Checkeeper were not stated on the pricing capture.

  • In Checkeeper’s favor: a browser, optional mailing, and no Windows-only limit stated on the pricing page.
  • In OwnChecks’s favor: one payment, no monthly bill, and the register stays on the PC.

VersaCheck

On Oct 2, 2026, the VersaCheck X1 Silver bundle page showed $99.99. The Gold and Platinum pages from the same capture did not display the software’s dollar price, so those prices are Not stated here. Both of those captures showed 165 print credits included. The pages also contained the figures $199.99 and $79.99, and this page does not assign those figures to the software price because the capture did not label them that way.

VersaCheck’s desktop product is sold as a yearly edition, and a newer edition is a separate purchase. Print credits are part of how that product prints. OwnChecks has no print credits. VersaCheck sells a Mac edition and a QuickBooks edition. OwnChecks has neither. If you need those, this is not a substitute. The store has also said account validation needs an internet connection. The full grid, including older figures that this capture did not reconfirm, is on the comparison page.

  • In VersaCheck’s favor: a Mac edition, a QuickBooks edition, and a long retail history.
  • In OwnChecks’s favor: no credit balance, and future versions for as long as we sell it rather than a new edition purchase.

Checksoft and ezCheckPrinting

Checksoft Personal Deluxe was $41.99 at Staples on Oct 2, 2026. That is less than $50. Office Depot listed the same edition at $49.99. Home & Business was $74.99 at Staples. Premier was Not stated. Walmart showed a robot check, so prices reported from that page were not used. Whether later Checksoft versions are included is Not stated. A lower sticker is not automatically a lower cost if the next version is another box.

ezCheckPrinting’s features and pricing page showed $59 for a single user, $79 for network, and $40 per additional network user. The vendor describes that license as the current version, with free updates inside that version and a paid upgrade for a new major version. The same vendor pages say it prints MICR on blank stock, and that Windows and Mac licenses are sold separately. Virtual Printer and QuickBooks edition prices were Not stated.

The lowest price we found for a one-time license that includes all future versions. Checksoft’s $41.99 is a lower shelf price. ezCheckPrinting’s $59 covers the version you buy. OwnChecks includes later versions for as long as we sell it. Your license includes all future versions of OwnChecks released while we continue to sell the product. We may stop selling or updating it at any time; your installed version keeps working.

  • In Checksoft’s favor: the lowest confirmed one-time shelf price in this set.
  • In ezCheckPrinting’s favor: a stated Mac version and a stated MICR blank-stock feature, at $59 for this version.
  • In OwnChecks’s favor: later versions while the product is still sold, and no network-user add-on.

What “best” should not mean

It should not mean the program a bank has blessed. No product on this page, including OwnChecks, can promise that. Print a free test page to check alignment. Confirm acceptance with your bank before you rely on a check. A test page does not prove bank acceptance. OwnChecks is not affiliated with any bank, and it does not move money. It should not mean the program with the most logos on a grid. This site does not use competitor logos.

If you want the cloud and mailing, start with Checkeeper’s own pricing page. If you need Mac or QuickBooks, start with VersaCheck or ezCheckPrinting and read their current edition. If you want the smallest number on a store shelf, Checksoft Personal Deluxe at $41.99 is that number, with the update policy Not stated. If you want Windows, one payment, and the file on your PC, OwnChecks is the row this site sells.

Sample check printed by the app for Sample Company LLC, payable to Jane Doe for $1,250.00, dated 10/02/2026, with a diagonal SAMPLE – VOID watermark. The MICR line uses all-zero routing and account numbers.
Sample check printed by the app — sample data

Buy OwnChecks

$50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). $50 for your first computer. Add more for $15 each, up to 10 per buyer (per purchase email). Future versions are included for as long as we sell it. There is no print-credit meter and no monthly fee.

Card, Apple Pay, Google Pay

Refunds within 48 hours of purchase by contacting support@ownchecks.com. After 48 hours, all sales are final. Try the free trial first. Checks print with a VOID watermark until you activate.

Related

Questions

Which check printing program is the best?

There is no single best product. OwnChecks fits a Windows PC, a one-time $50 license, and checks that stay on that computer. Checkeeper fits someone who wants a cloud app and will pay monthly. VersaCheck sells Mac and QuickBooks editions that OwnChecks does not have. Checksoft Personal Deluxe has a lower shelf price, and its policy for later versions is not stated.

Were these competitor prices checked?

Yes. The captures are in evidence/prices/2026-10-02, dated Oct 2, 2026. Checkeeper showed $14.99 a month and $1.50 mailing. Checksoft Personal Deluxe showed $41.99 at Staples and $49.99 at Office Depot. ezCheckPrinting’s features page showed $59, $79, and $40. VersaCheck’s Silver bundle showed $99.99. The Gold and Platinum software dollar prices were not on those captures.

Will my bank accept a check I print?

Print a free test page to check alignment. Confirm acceptance with your bank before you rely on a check. A test page does not prove bank acceptance. OwnChecks is not affiliated with any bank, and it does not move money.

Does OwnChecks run on a Mac?

No. It is Windows only. Windows 10 or 11 (64-bit). Internet is needed to download and activate once.. Mac and Linux are not supported.

Buy, $50Free trial